Hawks capture WSAD Invitational

February 26, 2010

The Indy Hawks travelled to Chicago for the WSAD Invitational on February 20th and won the championship game in a thrilling comeback victory.

The first two rounds were victories over Milwaukee, 51-28 and Chicago Stags 53-13, setting up a game against the up and coming Chicago Central Zone, who had won several mid-western invitational tournaments this past winter.

The first meeting between the Hawks and Central Zone was an exciting one. Edlin Dorn, the 6’9 center was triple-teamed thruought the game, forcing the Hawks to battle a cold-start and Lacedrix Brown’s scorching shooting in the first half, which resulted in a 18 point deficit with 5 minutes remaining before halftime.

Switching to a man to man defense, despite only having 7 healthy players for the All-Day tournament, the Hawks were able to chip away Central Zone’s lead to a 8 point deficit at the half-time buzzer.

The second half saw the Hawks diligently work possession by possession to wear Central Zone down. The game continued to be nip and tuck until 40 seconds remained in the game when Brian Bippus hit two free throws to put the Hawks ahead 55-54.

In the ensusing possession, The Hawks defense forced a loose ball and in the scramble for the ball – Coach Denney called a time-out when it briefly was in the possession of Billy Schwall with 17 seconds left.

After a foul, the Hawks’ Lemarc Williamson hit two free throws to put the Hawks ahead 57-54, completing an improbable comeback.

Photos can be observed here: http://web.me.com/jflmad/JFLMads_Website/2010_WSAD_bball_tourney.html

The win put the Hawks at 13-12 and after a dominating victory over Alliance last Wednesday night at the Fieldhouse – the Hawks stand at 14-12 with a game against the Kentucky Deaf Club coming up on February 27th at 12N at ISD Caskey Gym.

2010 Indy Hawks

February 9, 2010

Dorn and Haney gunning for a 3rd straight championship

The Indy Hawks' newest addition - PG Gabriel Paulone

John Little - tenacious defender

The Indy Hawks have their 2010 USADB roster set:

Robert Haney, Jr., Edlin Dorn, Matt Johnson, Keith Westhoelter, Brian Bippus, Onye Davis, Gabriel Paulone, Eugene King, John Little, Billy Schwall, James Bingham, LeMarc Williamson and Les Crump will once again represent the Indy Hawks as they begin their march towards defending their USADB championship crown.