Hawks’ Bippus enshrined into Gallaudet Hall of fame

Brian Bippus

Brian Bippus

Brian Bippus, one of the Indy Hawks’most illustrious basketball players, was induced into the Gallaudet University’s Athletic Hall of Fame, a year ago in Washington DC.  Bippus was honored for his academic and athletic contributions to the Gallaudet Athletics program. Excerpts are here:

Brian A. Bippus ’93, was presented by his former men’s basketball coach James DeStefano, who discussed his recruitment of Bippus and then went into year-by-year career highlights of his time as a Bison player.

“Brian’s skills were phenomenal. He was just so smooth. I knew he would be something special,” said DeStefano. “I prayed he would come to Gallaudet. When I became the head coach the following year my first call was to Brian.”

Bippus graduated as the all-time leading scorer for men’s basketball in Gallaudet history with 1,882 points. He played four years (1987-91) for the buff and blue as the Bison began their 20-year membership in the Capital Athletic Conference. Bippus became the first Bison to earn All-CAC honors as he was picked for the first team during the 1990-91 season. The three-time team captain also excelled in the classroom and became Gallaudet’s first-ever Academic All-American when he was named to the 1990-91 second team. He also earned All-District II first team honors.

“Being up here is truly an honor. When I first came to Gallaudet I wasn’t sure what I wanted to accomplish. I never thought I would be sharing this moment with my family today,” said Bippus during the induction. “Coach DeStefano taught me to coach with integrity and finesse and to play a good game. He expanded my basketball IQ and improved the way I played the game of basketball.”

The full story of the enshrinement can be found here: http://www.gallaudetathletics.com/news/2012-13/hofrecap

 

Comments are closed.

